Nixa Journalism Wins National Award

Nixa High School’s journalism program who produced the Wingspan in the 2019-20 school year has won a silver medal from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association.

A news release from the school district says the judge offered a great deal of feedback, along with these final thoughts: “Wingspan has a lot to offer its readers. Its design and articles are interesting for your community. Solid reporting is evident in the publication. Continue with ethical journalism free of opinion.”

The fourth issue of Wingspan was posted entirely at since students met virtually during the fourth quarter of the school year.

Students on the 2019-20 Wingspan staff:

2020 graduate Riley Harris, editor-in-chief

Darby Allen, sophomore

Lucy Cave, 2020 graduate

Macie Clark, 2020 graduate

Braden Dennis, junior

Avery FitzSimmons, senior

Katelynn Gibson, junior

Brooklyn Guillory, junior

Reid Holdman, junior

Kaitlyn Jones, senior

Nadia May, senior

Gracie Schwarz, junior

Carli Snyder, 2020 graduate

Jared Todd, 2020 graduate

Madalyn Tuning, senior

Pierre Walker, 2020 graduate

Mackenzie Wiegert, 2020 graduate

Michael Willard, junior

KWTO Insider

Become a KWTO Insider! Sign up form

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.