Photo courtesy of Springfield School District

Kelly Byrne and Steve Makoski Elected to Springfield School Board

Two newcomers will join the Springfield R-12 School Board following Tuesday’s elections.

Kelly Byrne and Steve Makoski were the top two vote-getters at the polls, winning over incumbent Charles Taylor, as well as Chad Courtney and Brandi VanAntwerp.

Byrne garnered more than 10,000 votes at the polls. During his campaign, he stressed the need for students to be in a classroom setting. He blames the district’s reaction to COVID-19 for losing 1,400 students in the first year of virtual learning.

Makoski says he decided to run because he saw a decline in academic achievement. He says the decline is over the last ten years, and that’s concerning to him.

Makoski adds he will fight for better access to classrooms for school board members to help them make better decisions.

Makoski will join us live on Wake up Springfield Wednesday morning at 8:15 a.m. on 93.3 and AM 560 KWTO.